Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi on Peugeot secured the victory of the drivers tricolor

15/07/2011 - No matter what, with the retirement of Rossetti and Scandola Andreucci won the Italian drivers 2011 championship.

In the Rally Terra Trophy, Aghini and Cerrai, second absolute in the race, ended ahead of Daniele Batistini and Giacomo Ciucci , third today.

Gubbio, 15 July 2011 - Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi, on Peugeot 207 Super 2000, ended at day one of the 24th Rally San Crispino - Città di Gubbio at the lead of the standings in the sixth round of the Italian Rally Championship and fourth round of the Rally Terra Trophy.

The Italian driver, due to the retirements of Luca Rossetti, Abarth, and of Umberto Scandola, mathematically secured the Italian drivers championship.

Twists did not miss today from the start that did not see Luca Rossetti and his Abarth Grande Punto among the protagonists as the driver was blocked by a violent flu. Moreover, during stage two Scandola finished very far from the top of the charts due to a problem with a tyre of his Ford Fiesta Super 2000. He had to retire afterwards due to a mechanical problem during the last stage of the day.

With the two main title contenders out of the games, Andreucci continued on top of everyone else and was followed by the protagonists of the Rally Terra Trophy; in particular, Andrea Aghini and Daniele Batistini, both on Peugeot. The latter two battled long and will keep on doing so tomorrow during day two. Fourth was Andrea Perego, very good at the wheel of the new Mini John Cooper Works. Fifth was Franco Cunico, slowed down at the beginning by some problems to the brakes. The important presence of Peugeot cars on top of the standings awards the French brand with the constructors title.
In the Italian Production Championship games seem to have been reopened. The leader Angrisani retired in the middle of day one while Fabio Gianfico is currently leading.

Good performances were scored by the two Citroen C3Ds3 driven by the young Simone Campedelli and Andrea Crugnola. The guys of Citroen Team Italy have only one big objective: running a lot of kilometres and developing the car on dirt roads.

Among prominent retirements those of Piero Longhi, Peugeot, and Renato Travaglia, Ford Fiesta Super 2000 have to be signalled.

The classification after day one: 1.Andreucci - Andreussi (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) in 46´18"5; 2. Aghini- Cerrari (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 20"8; 3. Batistini - Ciucci (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 37"4; 4. Perego - Pizzuti (Mini John Cooper) at 55"1; 5. Cunico - Pollet (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 1´13"8; 6. Papadimitriuo - Harriman (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) at 1´26"6; 7. Trentin - De Marco (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 1´35"15. 8. Manfrinato - Baronne (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) ; 9. Baldacci -Biordi (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) at 1´46"3; 10. Gianfico - Tolino (Mitsubishi Lacer Evo IX) at 1´53"2