Scandola - D'amore on Skoda Fabia S2000 triumph in San Marino

Second and third absolute Basso and Trentin on Peugeot 207 S2000. Ricci-Pfister on Subaru Impreza first in the Italian Gravel Trophy.

Republic of San Marino 13 July 2013 – A good victory, certainly the most convincing, at the end of a race led from lights to flag. Umberto Scandola and Guido D'Amore leave from San Marino's Republic with three quarters of the title in their pockets and with the awareness of having the Skoda Fabia S2000 – fitting Pirelli tyres this year – in their hands and of having a team at their disposal that once again had an important contribution to their win. The 41st San Marino Rally goes into archives with the Veronese that can look below to see all the rivals after keeping behind Giandomenico Basso who, with his on-off programme started with the good victory in the season opener. The race of the driver from Veneto cannot be considered negative though. At the start with a Peugeot 207 S2000 of team Pascoli Racing Team he struggled more than expected to find his right pace. Despite of this, in the aftermaths of the race it one cannot help noticing that the gap from Scandola has been mainly accumulated in the two passages on the tarmac of the Spectacle stage of San Marino. This does not take anything away from the victory obtained by Scandola and D'Amore that proved to be the best on their Skoda. There is not much to say about the other protagonists of CIR.
Alessandro Perico confirmed again that gravel is not its favourite surface and he managed to get the points of the third classified, score that allow him to keep the second place in the standings. The fourth position in CIR was obtained by Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi on Peugeot 208 R2. The Tuscan driver at the eve celebrated 50 rally endings in a row and won the 2WD race at the end of a round without particular ups, but he put in a solid race continuing the development of the "small” car of Peugeot.
Back to the challenge to the third and fourth place, the positions were obtained by Mauro Trentin, Peugeot 207 Super 2000, and by the San Marino's driver Daniele Ceccoli, who has been very good on his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X. Nice battle in the Italian Gravel Trophy. The threesome duel involved Valter Pierangioli, Fabio Gianfico, both on Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX, and Luigi Ricci on Subaru Impreza. The driver from Brescia Luigi Ricci and his navigator Christine Pfister – that are also on top of the Trophy's standings – had the best of it.

The classifications of the Italian Production and Italian Rally Junior required precise indications from the San Marino Rally. The outcome of the race of the Titan's Republic seems to have quite an impact on the title quests. Two champions, two different stories. In the Production, Andrea Nucita, on Citroen Ds3 R3, dominated the beginning of the race quite solidly keeping behind the season rival Alessandro Bosca, Renault Clio Rt3. This predominance was suddenly interrupted though when the gearbox of the Sicilian's car broke which gave way to the race of the Renault driven by Ivan Ferrarotti and, championship-wise, to the other Clio, the one driven by Alessandro Bosca, that is the provisional leader.
In the Junior championship Andrea Crugnola was confirmed on top of the standings. The Italian driving a Renault New Twingo has always kept the lead and was followed closely by Andrea Carella, who had some electric problems that slowed down his Peugeot 208 R2.
Alex Vittalini and Sara Tavecchio (Wita Team) are the new winners of the Citroen Racing Trophy.

41st RALLY SAN MARINO – GENERAL CLASSIFICATION AND RACE STANDINGS: 1.U.Scandola-G.D'Amore (Skoda Fabia S2000) in 1:53'36.7; 2.G.Basso-M.Dotta(Peugeot 207 S2000) at 10.1; 3.Trentin -De Marco (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 1'10.8;4. D.Ceccoli- A.Biordi (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) at 5'07.6; 5. A.Perico-F.Carrara (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 5'09.7;6. L.Ricci-C.Pfister (Subaru Impreza) at 5'44.3; 7. V.Pierangioli - C.Bioletti ( Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) at 5'45.4;8.F.Gianfico-R.Tolino ( Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) at 5'46.8; 8.; 9. M.Tempestini-L. Baggio (Ford Fiesta S2000) at 7'24.6;10.B.Bentivogli-G.Landolfo(Subaru Impreza Spec.) at 7'49.2.


CIR ABSOLUTE: 1.U.Scandola (Skoda Fabia S2000)64; 2.A.Perico(Peugeot 207 S2000) 47;3.P.Andreucci (Peugeot 208 S2000) 43;4. G.Basso (Peugeot 207 S2000) 27;5. A.Bosca(Renault Clio R3)21.

ITALIAN PRODUCTION: 1. A.Bosca(Renault Clio R3)42; 2. I.Ferrarotti (Renault Clio R3) 33;3A.Nucita (Citroen DS3 R3)32; Vittalini ( Citroen Ds3 R3) 28; 5. Re (Citroen Ds3)23.

ITALIAN JUNIOR: 1.A.Crugnola(New Twingo R2) 104; 2. A.Carella(Peugeot 208 R2)84;3. F.J.Andolfi(New Twingo R2))80.

CIR CONSTRUCTORS: 1. Peugeot 85 points; 2. Skoda 69; 3. Mitsubishi 34; 4. Renault 27; 5. Ford 14.

ITALIAN GRAVEL TROPHY: 1.L.Ricci(Subaru Impreza) 49,5;2. F.Gianfico( Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)35; V.Pierangioli (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)33;4. G.Costenaro (Peugeot 207 S2000)26.Marchioro ( Renault CLio R3C)24.
R2 Classification: 1. Andreucci 30 points; 2. Chentre 24; 3. Andolfi e Crugnola 16; 5. Cunial 11.
Citroen Racing Trophy: 1. A. Re 94;2. A.Vittalini 80;3. A.Nucita 78