Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi, Peugeot 208 T16 R5, win the 50th Rally of Friuli Venezia Giulia

Second place for Giandomenico Basso, Ford Fiesta R5, who finished ahead of Alessandro Perico, Peugeot 208 T16 R5. Bad luck for Umberto Scandola, Skoda Fabia Super 2000, who was delayed by an heavy impact in the final stage when third.

Udine, 30 August 2014 – A lot of uncertainty on the final result characterized the eve of the 50th Rally of Friuli Venezia Giulia, sixth race of the Italian Rally Championship, but as it turned out, the race has been a monologue by Paolo Andreucci and his co-driver Anna Andreussi on Peugeot 208 R5 T.16 by Peugeot Italia, as the pairing led the race throughout. The second place was obtained by Giandomenico Basso and Mitia Dotta on a GPL powered Ford Fiesta R5. They closed their effort with a 45'' gap to the top, while the third place went to Alessandro Perico on Peugeot 208 T16 R5. This has been a fair and square win as the Tuscan driver proved the goodness of the work done by Peugeot reopening completely the championship. The race had its most intense moments towards the end with the duel for the second place involving Basso, who won the final three stages, and Scandola. The duel ended with an heavy impact by Scandola that virtually ripped his rear left tire off in the last stage ending in the back.

The race in Friuli highlighted also several other drivers such as Alessandro Perico, who ended third. The driver from Bergamo – for the first time at the wheel of a Peugeot 208 T16 R5 – defended well himself and got the most of the incident occurred to Scandola. Good race for Alessandro Bosca, Peugeot 207 Super 2000, who put in a particularly fruitful race to celebrate his birthday with very quick times. Among the others, good race for the local hero Massimo Guerra, Ford Fiesta R5, and for Giuseppe di Palma, Renault Clio.

The Rally of Friuli has been very important also for the other two tricolored series. The victory in the Italian Junior Rally went to Stefano Albertini and his co-driver Silvia Mazzetti, on Peugeot 208 R2 run by Peugeot Italia, who led Giacomo Scattolon, on Peugeot 208 R2. The latter keeps the classification lead though. At this point of the season these two are the favourite to the final win of the title dedicated to young drivers. The third place went to Andrea Carella on Renault Twingo R2b, who also closed in in the Twingo R2 Top Championship right behind the leader Luca Panzani.
In the Italian Production Championship and in the Clio R3 Trophy the victory went to Ivan Ferrarotti, who was sixth in the absolute classification leading the young Giuseppe di Palma, the driver from Varese that is a member of the Italian national team, the ACI Team Italia. The third place of the category went to Fabrizio Junior Andolfi, who is also part of the ACI Team Italia. Thanks to this win he keeps the lead in the Production championship. Good race also for Alex Vittalini on DS3 R5 in the Citroen Racing Trophy, who finished ahead of Mauro Scotto. The absolute classification of the Suzuki Rally Trophy/ACI CSAI R1B Trophy, when only one race is left, is led by Jacopo Lucarelli.

FINAL ABSOLUTE CLASSIFICATION – 50th Rally of Friuli Venezia Giulia: 1.Andreucci-Andreussi (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) in 1:47'40.9 ; 2.Basso-Dotta (Ford Fiesta R5 Ldi) at 45.0 ; 3. Perico-Turati (Peugeot 208 T16) at 2'08.6; 4. Bosca-Aresca (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 2'55.3; 5. Scandola-D'Amore (Skoda Fabia S2000) at 4'42.7; 6.Perego-De Luis (Ford Fiesta R5) at 7'14.2; 7.Ferrarotti-Fenoli (Renault New Clio R3) at 7'16.4; 8.Koebler-Hofmann (Subaru Impreza WRX) at 7'33.2; 9. Dipalma-Cobra (Renault New Clio R3) at 7'55.0; 10. Toffoli-Coletti (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 8'34.2.

CIR DRIVERS CLASSIFICATION: 1.Scandola 67 pt ; 2.Andreucci 65; 3.Basso 64; 4. Albertini 27; Nucita 27; 5. Andolfi 25 ; 6. Perego 22; 7.Campedelli 14; 8.Michelini 13; 9. Marchioro 13.; 10. Scattolon 11 ; 11. Perico 10.

CIR CONSTRUCTORS CLASSIFICATION: 1.Peugeot 112 pt; 2.Ford 78; 3.Skoda 67; 4.Renault 52.

CIR PRODUCTION CLASSIFICATION: 1.Andolfi Jr. 49 ;2.Ferrarotti 45 pt; 3. Vittalini 40; 3. Marchioro 28; 4. Dipalma 20; 5.Gheno 14; 6. Bernardi11.

CIR JUNIOR CLASSIFICATION: 1.Scattolon 50 pt; 2.Albertini 42; 3.Panzani 38; 4.Carella 18.

Renault Clio R3 Production Trophy Classifications: 1. Ferrarotti 255,4 pt; 2.Andolfi Jr. 254,2;3. Marchioro 181,2.

Renault Twingo R2 Top Trophy Classification: 1.Panzani 161 ;2. Carella 126; 3. Comendulli 81.

Citroen Racing Trophy Classification: 1.Vittalini 102 pt; 2. Radzivil 54; 3.Scotto 48