Rally time in Sanremo

Shakedown scheduled for tomorrow after scrutineering. The race is valid as second round of the Italian Rally 2015 Championship and for the Italian and European Historic Rally. 181 entered drivers. Start of leg one on Friday in Piazza Adolfo Rava at 12.00.

Sanremo, 8 April 2014. It is all set for the 62nd Rallye Sanremo, the second round of the Italian Rally 2015 Championship scheduled for this weekend. Engines will be switched on for the first time tomorrow with the shakedown, that is the test with cars employing race setups, that will take place from local 12,30 to 17,00. The rally will kick off on Friday 10 April from the Piazzale Adolfo Rava of Sanremo for the first leg that will end just after midnight (0,45 on Saturday 11 April) at Palafiori. The race organized by Automobile Club of Saremo announces to be a nice and tough race, with forecasts difficult to make due to the numbers of this race, the names and the cars involved in this 62nd edition. Alessandro Perico on Peugeot 208 T16 R5, with Pirelli tires will have a go at the overall victory and at getting some solid points for the championship as he is currently leading the absolute classification from Nicola Caldani, on Ford Fiesta R5 with Hankook tires, to Stefano Albertini on Peugeot 208 T16 R5. Among the favourites, also the big disappointed protagonists of the race of Ciocco, Paolo Andreucci, Peugeot 208 T16 R5 with Pirelli tires, Giandomenico Basso, Ford Fiesta R5 powered by GPL and with Michelin tires and Umberto Scandola, Skoda Fabia Super 2000 with Michelin tires. An eye will have to be kept on the French Sebastien Chardonnet, who joined the Italian rally season from the round of Sanremo on Ford Fiesta R5. Among the other strong contenders, Gabriele Ciavarella and Stefano Baccega will compete on two Ford Fiesta R5, run by Team Bernini. The classic race of Sanremo will also be the second round of the Production Championship that will live on an intense battle involving the four Renault Clio R3T driven by Ciocco winner Giacomo Scattolon, by Fabrizio Andolfi Junior, by Luca Rossetti and by Ivan Ferrarotti. In the Italian Junior Championship, a lot of drivers will try to get solid points. Giuseppe Testa, who leads the classification after Ciocco, Michele Tassone, Peugeot Junior Rally Team, Nicolò Marchioro, Damiano De Tommaso, Tobia Gheno, Alberto Rossi, and Jacopo Trevisani will compete on Peugeot 208 R2, while Giorgio Bernardi, Luca Panzani, Gianandrea Pisani and the young Corinne Federighi will be on Renault Twingo R2.
The rally of Sanremo will also continue the battle for the Renault Trophies, Italian and European Clio R3T and Twingo R2 Top, that for the Suzuki Rally Trophy/ACI R1 Trophy with 15 lineups on track.
The programme features 10 races all on tarmac for a total of 160,660Km in an itinerary covering 488,21 Km. The start of the rally is scheduled for Friday 10 April at local 12,00 from Sanremo'sPiazzale Adolfo Rava, right opposite the former train station. Six stages will then cover 103,42 Km. The drivers will have to go through the stages of "San Romolo"(14,34km), "Bignone"(10,64 km) to be repeated twice and "Semoigo" (7,42 km). Leg one will be closed by the much awaited and very long night stage of Ronde spanning 45.62 Km comprising the three run stages in only one. On Saturday, leg 2 will start at 9,30 while the finish line will be set at 18 in Piazzale Adolfo Rava. Four more stages will follow: "Passo del Maro"(14,21 km) and "Vignai" (14,24 km) to be repeated twice, for a total of 57 timed kms.
The rally of Sanremo will enjoy an important media coverage with highlights on Rai Sport 2. The two days will be shon on Friday 10 April from 22,40 to 23,10 and on Saturday at the same times. Aci Sport Live streaming will cover the event with five appointments after the stages of Bignone, Passo del Maro, night Ronde and at the end of the Rally. Live streaming service will be available as usual at acisportitalia.it.
Live Streaming timetable:
Friday 10 April 2015:
1°) Bignone, end of stage, stop check, from 13.27 to 14.27.
2°) Bignone 2, end of stage, stop check, from 16.05 toe 17.06.
3°) Ronde, end of stage, stop check, from 23.15 to 00.10.
Saturday 11 April 2015:
4°) Passo del Maro, end of stage, stop check, from 8.25 to 9.15.
5°) End of Rallye, from 18.20 to 19.20.

In the picture, the current classification leader Alessandro Perico, Peugeot 208 T16 R5.