Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, Ford Fiesta R5 GPL powered, win Race-1 of the 100th Targa Florio

The driver from Veneto proceeded Paolo Andreucci's Peugeot and Andrea Nucita's Ford at the end of a tight fight. Ferrarotti-Bizzocchi dominant in the Italian 2WD. Testa-Mangiarotti leading CIR Junior

Palermo 07/05/2016 - BRC crews made by Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, on a GPL powered Ford Fiesta R5 won Race-1 of the 100th Targa Florio, the third act of the Italian Rally Championship. on the Madonie's roads. It has been an exciting race run on the edge of tenths as witnessed by the victories in the stages. Three wins went Basso's ways, four to Andreucci, and one to Andrea Nucita. The three lineups, ended in the order, awarded a lot of spectacle to the very many fans present. Behind the top three, Umberto Scandola and Guido D'Amore, were slowed down early on by some problems to the pop off valve on their Skoda Fabia R5 that also had some setup issues.
Local hero Marco Runfola was fifth on the Peugeot 208 R5 and was followed by the expert Totò Riolo also on Peugeot 208 R5.
Ivan Ferrarotti run a great race on the Renault Clio R3C winning Race-1 in the 2WD leading the direct rival Luca Panzani, who competed on the French R3T car.
A nice battle also characterized the Italian Rally Junior involving Marco Pollara and Giuseppe Testa, as the latter managed to have the best of the drive from Sicily, but both have been very good on the Peugeot 208 R2.
The R1 Italian Championship has also been quite lively with the Swift Sport class R1. Claudio Vallino is leading the charts followed by Jacopo Lucarelli, as the two were also fighting for the Suzuki Rally Trophy.

Among the excellent retirements, Simone Campedelli and Danilo Fappani had an engine failure on their Peugeot 208 R5 when only one stage was to go. They will not compete tomorrow.

Tomorrow, Sunday 8 May, the 100th Targa Florio will reach its conclusion of the end of Race-2. The final verdict will then be known. The Start will be from the Targa Florio Village at local 05.50, the stage "Targa 100" will be at 6:37; Campofelice di Roccella 1 will be at 7:19, while "Piano Battaglia 1" at 7:48. The protagonists of CIR will be back on the Lungomare for regrouping at 9.38 before heading to the Targa Florio Village for service park at 10.33. The second loop on the two stages will be respectively at 11.20 and 11.49, while the third run on the "Campofelice di Roccella" will take place at 13.47. The finish line and the 100th podium of Targa Florio will be at 14.45 in Cefalù's Piazza Duomo.
THE ABSOLUTE CLASSIFICATION OF THE 100TH TARGA FLORIO -- RACE 1: 1. Basso-Granai (Ford Fiesta R5 gpl) in 47'32.0; 2.Andreucci-Andreussi (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) at 3.7; 3.Nucita-Nucita (Ford Fiesta R5) at 21.2; 5. 4.Scandola-D'Amore (Skoda Fabia R5) at 27.5; 5. Runfola-Pollicino (Peugeot 208 R5) at 1'24.6; 6.Riolo-Alduina (Peugeot 208 T16 R5) at 1'45.4; 7. Tempestini-Pulpea (Ford Fiesta R5) at 2'12.8;8. Baccega-Menchini (Ford Fiesta R5) at 2'30.6; 9. Rusce-Farnocchia (Ford Fiesta R5) at 2'55.7; 10.Ferrarotti-Bizzochi (Renaul Clio R3C) at 3'35.1.

CIR RACE 1 CLASSIFICATION: Andreucci 36,50 pt; Basso 31,75; Scandola 22,50;Perico 19; Michelini 8,5; Tempestini - Baccega - Campedelli 7,5; Ciava 5 Rusce 3,5.

CIR JUNIOR RACE 1 CLASSIFICATION: Pollara 30,5 pt; Testa 29,75; 21, 5. Casella 20,50 ; Manfredi 17.

1.Peugeot 39,5 pt; 2.Skoda 21: 3. Ford 21.

1.Ferrarotti 38,25; 2. Panzani 32; 3. Pisani 20,50 Bernardi 13,50