Andrea Crugnola and Pietro Elia Ometto, Citroen C3 R5, win the 43rd Rally Il Ciocco e Valle del Serchio

The second place went to Basso-Granai in the VW Polo R5, that still lead the championship. The third place to Albertini-Fappani, Skoda Fabia R5, that won the Asphalt trophy at Ciocco. CRZ victory for Panzani-Pinelli, Fabia R5.

Il Ciocco (Lucca) Saturday, August 22nd 2020 – Two protagonists in Rome two crews leading at Ciocco and two drivers that are fighting with each other for the title. On the one side Andrea Crugnola and Pietro Elia Ometto, in the Citroen C3 R5 of FPF Sport, that won the 43rd Rally Il Ciocco e Valle del Serchio, after leading it from the first kilometre. On the other side Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, Volkswagen Polo R5 ran by New Loran, that were always second. This result allow them to lead the ACI Sport Italian Rally Championship. The driver from Varese dominated the race in Tuscany, while the driver from Treviso did not have rivals on the tricky roads near Lucca inflicting big gaps to the rivals.

Stefano Albertini and Danilo Fappani, Skoda Fabia R5, have been very good staying close to the first two until SS3 but then were slowed down by a puncture. The driver from Brescia claimed third and led the Italian Asphalt Rally Trophy. Despite this hiccup, he ended third one minute shy of the winner.

Alessandro Re and Marco Menchini, Volkswagen Polo R5, ended at the feet of the podium in fourth place overtaking Marco Signor and Francesco Pezzoli, Volkswagen Polo R5, and Giacomo Scattolon with Giovanni Bernacchini, Skoda Fabia R5, in the last test. The latter have been good and constantly fast. Rudy Michelini and Michele Perna were third early on posting very good times until a puncture relegated them out of the fight for the podium and made them end seventh. The top ten was rounded off by Tommaso Ciuffi and Nicolò Gonella, Skoda Fabia R5, Antonio Rusce and Sauro Farnocchia, in the second Citroen C3 R5 of FPF Sport and Gianluca Tosi with co-driver Alessandro De Barba, Skoda Fabia R5.



The race in Tuscany has also staged the challenge for the 2WD where home hero Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi dominated the rally in the Peugeot 208 Rally 4. Behind them, the fight has been fierce. The young Christopher Lucchesi (Peugeot 208 R2B) and Daniele Campanaro in the Fiesta R2 fought a good battle. The first was behind Andreucci for most of the race but a puncture in the afternoon, while the second has been very fast throughout but had some delay in the last test. The second place went therefore to Alessandro Casella in another 208 R2B. He secured important points for the championship. The third place in the 2WD went to Fabio Farina in the Peugeot 208. Davide Nicelli Jr. struggled to find a good feeling and therefore had to settle for the points given to the eighth place that allow him to be on top of the classification.


A good race has been run in CRZ too. In the second race of the 6th division that embraces the Tuscany and Umbria areas, the victory for the Rally ACI Sport 2020 Zone Cup went to Luca Panzani. The home driver secured his maiden win with Francesco Pinelli at the notes in the Skoda Fabia R5. After the first stage, Panzani bounced back and had the best of his direct rival Alessandro Perico. The driver from Bergamo and his co-driver Mauro Turati were slowed down by a puncture at the rear right of their VW Polo R5 in the first loop and had to retire in the finale.

Andrea Carella and Enrico Bracchi secured important points for the Cup ending second. The next round for Carella will take place in Elba. Thomas Paperini and Simone Fruini, claimed third in the Skoda Fabia R5. Paolo Moricci and Garavaldi ended their second rally on a Skoda at the feet of the podium in fourth place. The fifth place went to Luca Pierotti on Citroen C3 R5. They were among the best last year and now claimed second of the Zone Cup after the second place in the opening round at the Città di Lucca.

Among the most awaited drivers, Michele Rovatti had some issues to the turbo of his Fabia R5. The other positions went in order to Luca Artino, Polo R5, Federico Gasperetti, Renault Clio R3, Alessandro Ciardi, on another Clio R3 and Emanuele Danesi, on Ford Fiesta R2. The CIR Junior driver of ACI Team Italia Riccardo Pederzani experienced some issues to the brakes of the rear right of the Peugeot 207 S2000 that affected his race.


Simone Rivia and Andrea Dresti secured the lead of the single-make trophy and won the round of the Italian R1 Championship in the Swift R1 leading the official Suzuki Hybrid driven by Simone Goldoni. In the trophy, Giorgio Fichera was second in the Suzuki Baleno as he did at the Rally in Alba. Among the very many retirements, Ivan Cominelli and Igor Iani put in very good times early on before retiring.


FINAL CLASSIFICATION 43. RALLY IL CIOCCO E VALLE DEL SERCHIO: 1. Crugnola-Ometto (Citroën C3 R5) in 1h06'26.7; 2. Basso-Granai (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 18.9; 3. Albertini-Fappani (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1’04”7; 4. Re-Menchini (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 1'19”4; 5. Signor-Pezzoli (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 1'23”1; 6. Scattolon-Bernacchini (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'23”.3; 7. Michelini-Perna (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 1'42”.4; 8. Ciuffi-Gonella (Skoda Fabia R5) at 2'05”.7; 9. Rusce-Farnocchia (Citroen C3 R5) at 2'07”.7; 10. Tosi-Del Barba (Skoda Fabia R5) at 2'10”.7; 10. Rusce-Farnocchia (Citroen C3 R5) at 1'47.5


1. Basso Giandomenico (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) 39pt; 2. Crugnola Andrea (Citroen C3 R5)30 pt; 3. Michelini (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) 24 pt; 4. Re Alessandro (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) 22 pt; 5. Rusce Antonio (Citroen C3 R5) and Signor Marco (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) 16 pt; 6.Scandola (Hyundai i20 R5) and Albertini (Skoda Fabia R5) 10 pt


1. Michelini 36 pt; 2.Re Alessandro 34 pt;3.Signor 26 pt; 4.Rusce 24 pt; ; 5.Albertini 15 pt


1.Nicelli 31 pt; 2.Casella 30 pt; 3.Lucchesi 26 pt; 4.Campanaro 22 pt; 5.Farina 18 pt


1.Volkswagen 62; 2.Citroen 61; 3.Skoda 29 ; 4.Hyundai 16

FINAL CLASSIFICATION 43RD RALLY IL CIOCCO E VALLE DEL SERCHIO - CRZ: 1. Panzani-Pinelli (Skoda Fabia R5) in 44'50.0; 2. Carella-Bracchi (Skoda Fabia R5) at 39.2; 3. Paperini-Fruini (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'05.5; 4. Moricci-Garavaldi (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'20.1; 5. Pierotti-Milli (Citroen C3 R5) at 1'22.1; 6. Rovatti-Lombardi (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'52.2; 7. Artino-Gabelloni (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 3'14.4; 8. Gasperetti-Ferrari (Renault Clio R3) at 3'29.9; 9. Ciardi-Tondini (Renault Clio R3) at 3'55.2; 10. Danesi-Sarti (Ford Fiesta R2) at 4'16.5.

6TH ZONE CLASSIFICATION: Luca Pierotti 18 pt; Luca Panzani and Rudy Michelini 15 pt; Thomas Paperini 13, 5 pt; Claudio Arzà and Paolo Moricci 9 pt.