Andrea Crugnola and Pietro Elia Ometto, Citroen C3 R5, dominate the 104th Targa Florio

Second overall in the "A Cursa” were Stefano Albertini and Danilo Fappani, Skoda Fabia R5, that won the Tarmac trophy. The third place went to Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, Volkswagen Polo R5, that are still leading the Championship. Cogni-Zanni won the CIR Junior round among the Ford Fiesta R2. The second round of the ACI Sport Rally Zone Cup the victory went to Lombardo (Peugeot 207 S2000)

Campofelice di Roccella (PA), Saturday, September 12th 2020 – The 104th edition of the Targa Florio was run until bad weather kicked in, that caused the cancellation of the two closing tests “Targa” and “Scillato-Polizzi”.

The fourth act of the Italian Rally Championship was won by Andrea Crugnola and Pietro Ometto in the Citroen C3 R5 run by FPF Sport at the end of a rally dominated from SS1. The driver from Varese did not put a foot wrong winning five of the seven stages and built a 13s lead on the Skoda Fabia R5 of Tam Auto driven by Stefano Albertini and Danilo Fappani. The driver from Brescia put in an excellent performance winning the Tarmac Trophy as he had the upper hand on Giandomenico Basso. The CIR classification leader and co-driver Lorenzo Granai in their Volkswagen Polo run by HK Racing did not manage to fill the gap to Crugnola, that extended his lead in the closing test. The third place of Basso allowed him to keep the classification lead by four points on Crugnola. At the feet of the podium, Marco Pollara claimed a good P4. The driver from Prizzi, back from Rally Estonia with a fifth place in JWRC, changed the car – here he was competing on a Skoda Fabia R5 with Daniele Mangiarotti at the notes. The driver from Cerda, Totò Riolo, on Fabia R5 was fifth overall. Marco Signor is still learning the Volkswagen Polo GTi of StepFive and claimed sixth putting in some good stage times and was followed by ACI Team Italia’s Alessio Profeta and Sergio Raccuia. The driver from Palermo was seventh overall on Fabia R5. The eighth place went to Alessandro Re and Marco Menchini in the Polo R5. They secured the points needed to lead the Tarmac Trophy. The top ten of the “Targa” was rounded off by Tommaso Ciuffi who is learning his Skoda Fabia R5 and Ivan Ferrarotti, on another R5. Rudy Michelini had a tough rally since the shakedown. He and co-driver Michele Perna had to retire their Volkswagen Polo R5 run by PA Racing in the initial hairpins of SS1.

CIR 2WD | As expected, the victory of the 2WD went to Paolo Andreucci in the Peugeot 208 Rally 4 with Anna Andreussi. Behind him, Daniele Campanaro, in the Ford Fiesta R2 with Irene Porcu, has always been in the slipstream of the multiple-times Italian Champion and this second place allowed him to win the classification of the 2WD Tarmac. The top three of the 2WD was completed by the young home hero Alessandro Casella and Rosario Siragusano on Peugeot 208 R2.


CIR JUNIOR | A surprising Finale characterized the challenge between the Ford Fiesta R2 of Motorsport Italia where Mattia Vita dominated the rally throughout, but Giorgio Cogni eventually claimed the win. The driver from Piacenza has always kept close to his rival from Lucca and moved his winning attack in SS6. Cogni ended 3s ahead of Vita securing the points that allowed him to take the lead of the Championship classification. Vita lacked a bit of experience on the wet in SS7 losing 13s. The third place and second in Junior went to Andrea Mazzocchi. Behind him, Emanuele Rosso, who was not completely satisfied by his performance. Riccardo Pederzani and Michele continued building up experience and clocking up miles ending respectively fourth and fifth.

In the Italian R1 Championship Simone Goldoni managed to have the upper hand in the new Suzuki Swift Hybrid and led Davide Porta, who was on top until the closing test in his maiden rally in Sicily on Ford Fiesta.

SUZUKI RALLY CUP | The Suzuki Rally Cup has been an elimination rally. The Targa Florio has been extremely difficult for the protagonists of the Suzuki Italia Rally Cup as a lot of them had to retire early despite the good performance put in up to that point. The victory eventually went to Nicola Schileo and co-driver Luciano Renzo Finzi in the Suzuki Swift R1. Schileo got the most of the gearbox failure of Igor Iani in SS6. The under 25 driver led the rally up to that point with Nicola Puliani. The second place of the Suzuki Rally Cup went to Simone Calcagno and Alessandro Parodi on another Boosterjet, the third place to Cristian Mantoet on Stefano Beltramello in a class Racing Start Swift.

ZONE RALLY CUP | 8TH ZONE An extraordinary performance by Roberto Lombardo and Andrea Domenico Spanò on Peugeot 207 Super 2000 allowed them to win the 104th Targa Florio Rally valid for ACI Sport’s Zone Rally Cup. The “A Cursa” was, in fact, valid this year as the second round of the 8th Zone of the Italian rally after the Rally of Tirreno with 57 crews at the start. The second place went to Mirabile-Castelli (Skoda Fabia R5) at +47.5s and the third to E.Riolo-Floris (Skoda Fabia R5) at +55.3s'.


THE FINAL CLASSIFICATION OF THE 104TH TARGA FLORIO: 1. Crugnola-Ometto (Citroen C3 R5) in 37'34.3; 2. Albertini-Fappani (Skoda Fabia) at 13.1; 3. Basso-Granai (Volkswagen Polo Gti) at 17.1; 4. Pollara-Mangiarotti (Skoda Fabia) at 36.1; 5. Riolo-Marin (Skoda Fabia) at 41.6; 6. Signor-Pezzoli (Volkswagen Polo Gti) at 48.9; 7. Profeta-Raccuia (Skoda Fabia) at 52.1; 8. Re-Menchini (Volkswagen Polo Gti) at 54.6; 9. Ciuffi-Gonella ' (Skoda Fabia) at 55.8; 10. Ferrarotti-Grimaldi (Skoda Fabia) at 1'36.8.

CIR 2020 CLASSIFICATION: 1. Basso Giandomenico (VW Polo GTI R5) 49 pt; 2. Crugnola Andrea (Citroen C3 R5) 45 pt; 3. Re Alessandro (VW Polo GTI R5) 25 pt; 4.Michelini Rudy (VW Polo GTI R5) 24pt;5. Albertini (Skoda Fabia R5) 22 pt

CIR TARMAC: 1.Re 40 pt; 2. Michelini and Signor 36 pt; 4. Albertini 30 pt; 5. Rusce 26 pt.

CIR JUNIOR 2020: Mazzocchi 49 pt Cogni 48 pt ; Rosso 41 pt; Vita 40 pt; Bormolini 23 pt; Pederzani 18 pt

CIR 2WD: 1. Casella 38 pts; Campanaro 36; 3. Nicelli 31; 4. Andreucci 30; 5. Lucchesi 26.

CIR CONSTRUCTORS: Volkswagen 77 pts; 2. Citroen 76; 3. Skoda 49; 4. Hyundai 16.

TARGA FLORIO CRZ: 1. Lombardo-Spano' (Peugeot 207 S2000) in 35'31.2; 2. Mirabile-Castelli (Skoda Fabia) at 47.5; 3. Riolo-Floris (Peugeot 208T16) at 55.3; 4. Angelucci-Cambria (Volkswagen Polo Gti) at 1'30.8; 5. Palazzo-Salemi (Renault Clio S1600) at 1'50.0; 6. Molica-Grandi (Renault Clio S1600) at 2'33.9; 8. Scannella-Di Caro Catarratto (Peugeot 106) at 3'03.8; 9. Cacioppo-Montana (Mitsubishi Evo 9) at 3'24.2; 10. Damiani-Livecchi (Peugeot 208 R2) at 3'46.3;

CRZ 8TH ZONE: 1. Profeta, Lombardo 15pt; 2. Scannella 12,5pt; 3. Calderone, Mirabile 12 pt; 3. Molica 10,5pt; 4. Ferro, Riolo 9 pt; 5. Angelucci, Rizzo 7,5pt