Barcelona race 3: VAR, Chovet and Hauger

Finally, the success for Van Amersfoort Racing after the excellent qualifying, with a Chovet - Hauger couple that shows how the Dutch team has arrived in good shape on the Spanish circuit. Third is Petecof, who extends in the championship on Leclerc, fourth.

The 18th race of the 2020 season on the Barcelona circuit sees Dennis Hauger (Van Amersfoort Racing) in pole, followed by teammate Pierre-Louis Chovet, then Gianluca Petecof (Prema Powerteam), championship leader, teammate and winner of the first two races on this circuit Oliver Rasmussen, then the other Prema driver, Arthur Leclerc.

Chovet starts well and takes the lead on Hauger, while Petecof also has a good sprint and tries the attack on the Norwegian, but without success. Chovet then passes first, followed by Hauger, Petecof, Leclerc, Nannini, who has a great start, and Rasmussen. The latter after a few curves is on Nannini and attacks him, while the Italian attacks Leclerc.


The couple of VAR drivers in the lead stretch, then Petecof 2 seconds behind and Leclerc at 1"3 from the Brazilian, with Nannini and Rasmussen very close behind. The fight between the latter two allows the Monegasque to stretch. Nannini keeps Rasmussen behind and acts as a stopper, with Patrik Pasma and Konsta Lappalaine (both KIC Motorsport) very close to the Dane, but after several attacks, it is the Prema driver who prevails following an error by the Monolite Racing driver, who until a few minutes from the end of the race had defended himself excellently.



So Chovet wins with a good margin over teammate Hauger then, also behind by a couple of seconds, the championship leader Petecof, Leclerc, Rasmussen, who had managed to reach the Monegasque, but in the attempt to overtake had gone very wide losing several seconds, and Nannini sixth.

In the meantime, Prema Powerteam is officially team champion 2020!

The next and penultimate round of the season will take place on the weekend of November 22nd on the Imola circuit.