Crugnola-Ometto, Citroen C3R5, win the Italian Rally Championship 2020. Bulacia and Der Ohannesian, Skoda Fabia R5, win the Gravel Trophy

The multiple time motorbike champion Antonio Cairoli (Hyundai i20 R5) completed a remarkable rally ending sixth overall. A lot of Italian champions like Lorenzo Codecà and Mauro Toffoli took part in the Italian Cross Country in the Suzuki Gran Vitara T1. The Junior title went to Mazzocchi-Galotti on Ford Fiesta Rally4, while the CIR 2WD went to Andreucci-Andreussi, on Peugeot 208 Rally4. The constructors' title went to Skoda.

Castelnuovo Berardenga Scalo (SI), Saturday, November 21st 2020 – Today, as last year at the Tuscan Rewind, the closing round of the season has been crucial to name the winners of the Italian Rally Championship and also those of the Italian Gravel Trophy. These two series have been hard-fought and lived an intense closing battle in the nice gravel tests around Montalcino.

The overall title went to Andrea Crugnola and his co-driver Pietro Elia Ometto, in the Citroen C3 R5 run by FPF Sport Spa. They have been leading the rally for a long time and conceded the lead to Marco Bulacia only towards the end when they had already secured the title. This 31 years old driver is certainly fast but does not have a big budget supporting him. Nevertheless, he managed to score this success at the end of a season that he faced among the fields of a professional team and also followed by Citroen Italia. In between him and the title, there was only his rival for the whole season: Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai on a Volkswagen Polo R5 run by HK Racing. The latter did not seem to be at ease with his car on the gravel that last year gave him the Italian title. Finally, Basso had to stop due to a sudden failure of one rim.


In the Italian Gravel Trophy, the title went to Bolivia with the very strong Marco Bulacia Wilkinson who has been competing in a Skoda Fabia R5 with co-driver Marcelo Der Ohannesian. The South-American 20 years old driver since September has a future ahead on top levels. He has also put in strong rallies as in this occasion where he obtained the top of the overall classification and the Gravel Trophy. Paolo Andreucci did not take part in the race but entered CIR 2WD, while Simone Campedelli went out soon as he rolled his Volkswagen Polo R5 shared with co-driver Sauro Farnocchia. Both crew members got out of the car unharmed. The Colombian driver did not take it easy but pushed hard all the way till the end and eventually led the overall classification in Tuscany.

The overall podium saw Crugnola taking second and the very good Alberto Battistolli, with Simone Scattolin at the notes in the Skoda Fabia R5 in third. The latter driver is one of the best talents of the Italian Rally and completed a strong rally with the ACI Team Italia’s colors. Behind him, the good French driver Jean Baptiste Franceschi has been fighting for the win for a long time but was eventually slowed down by a puncture. Giacomo Costenaro ended the rally in fourth place and was second in the Gravel Trophy on Skoda. The multiple-times motocross world champion Antonio Cairoli and co-driver Anna Tomasi put in a great performance on a Hyundai i20 run by BRC Racing Team. The Sicilian proved his talent despite getting on a car once in a year.

The eleventh edition of the rally organized by EventStyle also decided the 2WD championship. The title went to Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi in the new Peugeot 208 Rally4. The R1 title went to Davide Porta on Renault Clio Rs Line R1 and the CIR Constructors’ title went to Skoda, while the 2WD to Ford.


When one round is left before the ACI Rally Monza (Leg 1), Andrea Mazzocchi and Silvia Gallotti secured the Italian Rally Junior title in the Ford Fiesta Rally4 after a strong performance that allowed them to lead the good Mattia Vita, Giorgio Cogni and Emanuele Rosso.

Christopher Lucchesi won the Under 25 ACI Sport Cup 2WD leading Fabio Farina, who was on top until the final stage, both on Peugeot 208 R2.

The first edition of the Cross Country took place at the Tuscan rally. The closing round of this championship saw a lot of protagonists coming to the fore but the Italian Champion is Lorenzo Codecà. He and his co-driver Mauro Toffoli managed well the rally in their Suzuki Gran Vitara of Group T1 after his rival Manuele Mengozzi and Andrea Schiumarini went out early on the Mitsubishi Pinin. The latter reached the Tuscan rally as classification leader. Codecà secured, therefore, his 11th Italian title and rewarded Suzuki Italia with the Constructors’ title. Sergio Galletti also ran a good rally in the Toyota Hilux Overdrive and won T1. Alfio Bordonaro and Rudy Briani have also displayed a great shape winning five of the six stages of the offroads.

1. Bulacia Wilkinson-Der Hoannesian (SKODA FABIA R5) 43,5pt; 2. Costenaro-J.Bardini (Skoda Fabia R5) 43pt; 3. Andreucci (Citroen C3 R5) 40pt; 4. Campedelli (VW Polo-Ford Fiesta R5) 36pt; 5. Ceccoli-Capolongo (Hyundai i20 R5) 16pt;

TUSCAN REWIND FINAL CLASSIFICATION: 1. Bulacia Wilkinson-M. Der Ohannesian (Skoda Fabia R5) in 55.02’4; 2. Crugnola-Ometto (Citroen C3 R5) at 13.5; 3. Battistolli-Scattolin (Skoda Fabia R5 Evo) at 42.9; 4. Franceschi- Haut Labourdette (Skoda Fabia R5) at 49.2; 5. Costenaro- Bardini (Skoda Fabia Evo) at 55.9; 6. Cairoli-Tomasi (Hyundai i20 R5) at 1'20.1; 7. Oldrati- De Guio (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'31.0; 8. Lindholm- Korhonen (Skoda Fabia R5) at 1'36.4; 9. Signor- Pezzoli (Volkswagen Polo R5) at 1'47.0; 10. Taddei-Gaspari (Hyundai i20 R5) at 1’51.4;
CIR 2020: Crugnola-Ometto (Citroen C3 R5) 67,5 pt; Basso-Granai (VW GTI R5) 49pt; 3. Signor-Pezzoli (VW Polo R5) 40pt; 4. Albertini-Fappani (Skoda Fabia R5) 34pt; 5. Re (VW Polo-Skoda Fabia R5) 30pt
CIR JUNIOR 2020: 1. Mazzocchi 85,5 pt; 2. Vita e Cogni 67 pt; Rosso 63 pt; Bormolini 29 pt; Pederzani 26pt
CIR 2WD: Andreucci 67,5; Nicelli 50,0; Campanaro 48.0; Lucchesi 44,0pt
CIR CONSTRUCTORS: Skoda 102pt; Citroen 98,5pt; Volkswagen 96pt
2WD CONSTRUCTORS: Ford 140 pt; Peugeot 131,5

Cross Country: 1. Codecà -Toffoli (Suzuki Grand Vitara) 68 pt; 2. Bordonaro-Bono (Suzuki New Grand Vitara 1.9) 60 pt; 3.Mengozzi-Schiumarini (Mitsubishi Pajero Pinin) 58 pt; 4. Luchini-Bosco (Suzuki New Grand Vitara 1.9) 52,5 pt; Galletti-Fontana (Toyota Hilux Overdrive)37,5