The Endurance series of the Italian GT 2020 Championship resumes from Imola after the summer break

The Enzo e Dino Ferrari is about to host the second round of the season with some new arrivals in GT3 and GT4. In the highest class, Riccardo Agostini and Daniel Mancinelli (Audi R8 LMS) won in Mugello and in the occasion will be sided by Vito Postiglione as the men to beat. In GT4 Gnemmi-De Castro-Pera (Porsche Cayman) will have to defend their lead from the attacks of the BMW and Mercedes challengers.

All is set at the Enzo e Dino Ferrari in Imola for the second act of the Italian GT Championship Endurance, that is the first after the summer break. After the debut in Mugello last July, this round will see more crews at the start – eighteen – thanks to the new arrivals in GT3 (two Porsche GT3R and one Ferrari 488) and in GT4 where one more Mercedes AMG has been entered.


In the highest class, thirteen crews will be at the start with 35 drivers. Among these, Riccardo Agostini and Daniel Mancinelli (Audi R8 LMS) are leading the classification. Audi Sport Italia’s drivers and Mattia Drudi won the opener in Mugello, but the latter will be replaced by Vito Postiglione in Imola due to conflicting commitments ahead of the 24 Hours of Nurburgring.

At Imola, Audi drivers will have to face the challenge of BMW Team Italia-Ceccato Motors Racing Team’s Stefano Comandini and the 17 years old Marius Zug, that came second in Mugello with Alexander Sims. BMW Motorsport will field another great champion, the Canadian Bruno Spengler.

At Lamborghini, Alex Frassineti returns to the Italian series next to Kikko Galbiati and Giovanni Venturini in the Hurcan of Imperiale Racing, that came third in Mugello after a good performance also in the Sprint series in Misano.

The other Huracans on track in Imola will be those of Vincenzo Sospiri’s VSR with the same lineups fielded in Mugello - Aghakani-Giammaria-Pulcini and Kroes-Schandorff-Tujula – while the total of the Ferraris entered in the second round of the season went up to four thanks to the 488 of RS Racing driven by Di Amato-Vezzoni, that already took part in the opener of the Sprint series. Ferrari colours will be defended by the two 488 of AF Corse driven by Roda-Rovera-Fuoco and Mann-Cressoni and by the car fielded by Easy Race for Hudspeth-Michelotto-Greco.

The Porsche GT3 R entered are three thanks to the new entry of Team Herberth Motorsport that will bring two coupes in Imola for the twins Robert and Alfred Renauer – that are called the fastest twins of Germany - who will be sided by respectively by Daniel Alleman and Ralf Bohn, while the third GT3 R will feature the Ebimotors livery and will be driven by Venerosi-Baccani-Pera.

The Mercedes AMG GT3 of Antonelli Motorsport will complete the entry list with the 21 years old new entry from Chile Benjamin Hites, who will replace Stefano Colombo next to the PRO-AM classification leaders Francesca Linossi and Lorenzo Ferrari. The 17 years old from Piacenza comes from the victory with Daniel Zampieri in the opener of the Sprint series and is one of the best new talents of the Italian breeding ground.





Five cars and fourteen drivers make up the entry list of GT4 that will once again live on the Porsche-BMW-Mercedes rivalry. The Cayman GT4 of Ebimotors will be driven by Di Giusto-Marchi-De Amicis and the provisional classification leaders and winners in Mugello Gnemmi-De Castro-Pera, that will have to face the challenge of the BMW M4 GT4 of BMW Team Italia-Ceccato Motors Racing Team driven by Guerra-Riccitelli-Neri, that came second in Mugello.

The Mercedes AMG GT4 of Nova Race doubled. AM classification leader Luca Magnoni will not be sided by the Norwegian Alexander Schjerpen, who is stuck at home by the Covid-19 restrictions and his seat has been taken over by Tobia Zarpellon. The rookies Mario Minella, Claudio Formenti and Filippo Manasiero will compete on the other AMG.





The weekend will start on Friday with two free practice sessions at local 12.10 and 17.30, while the third session will take place on Saturday at 12. The three qualifying sessions (each of 15 minutes) will take place from 18.30 to 19.35 to define the starting grid based on the best time of the three drivers. The three hours long race will start on Sunday afternoon at 15.50 and will be broadcast live by Raisport (ch 58 Freeview) and in streaming from, and, on the Rai websites and The race will also be shown recorded on MS Motor TV (SKY 228) at a time still to be defined.


On Twitter