Roda-Rovera-Fuoco (Ferrari 488) win the Italian GT Endurance Championship in Monza

AF Corse's drivers won the race earning the title of Champions after three hard-fought hours of racing. The other titles went to Michelotto-Greco-Hudspeth (Ferrari 488) in GT3 PRO-AM, Gnemmi-De Castro-Pera (Porsche Cayman) in GT4 PRO-AM and Luca Magnoni (Mercedes AMG GT4) in GT4 AM.

Giorgio Roda, Alessio Rovera and Antonio Fuoco (Ferrari 488) are the winners of the Italian GT Endurance 2020 Championship. The verdict came at the end of the 4th and closing round held in Monza. The AF Corse drivers won the race leading the Audi R8 LMS driven by Drudi-Agostini-Mancinelli (Audi Sport Italia) by 2”879s and the Lamborghini Huracan of Kroes-Shandorff-Tujula (VSR) by 17”795s. The other Italian titles went to Hudspeth-Michelotto-Greco (Ferrari 488-Easy Race) in GT3 PRO-AM, Gnemmi-De Castro-Pera (Porsche Cayman-Ebimotors) in GT4 PRO-AM and Luca Magnoni (Mercedes AMG GT4-Nova Race) in GT4 AM.



It has been one of the most exciting battles of the whole season and Roda-Rovera-Fuoco came out as the winners. A couple of safety cars, several changes on top, a few incidents and some penalties kept the final outcome uncertain until the end with a lot of drivers hunting for the win. The race in Monza smiled to the Ferrari of AF Corse, despite a first stint in which Roda was penalized by excessive tyre wear, which was neutralized by the first safety car needed by the exit of a GT4 car. The comeback started soon after, at the start of the second stint when Rovera kept the contact with the leading cars finding eventually his way past Giammaria and handing the car over to Fuoco in P4. The driver from Cosenza run a flawless, though very tight, stint and at the beginning, he kept himself out of the battle for the top that involved Drudi and Krohn. After overtaking Kroes, he kept the slipstream of Drudi, who had been handed a 5s time penalty due to the contact with the BMW driver. At the flag, Fuoco ended behind Drudi, but the latter was relegated to P2 with his co-equipers Mancinelli and Agostini by the penalty and eventually ended second in the championship 8 points short of the lead.

The third step of the podium went to Kroes-Shandorff-Tujula (Lamborghini Huracan-VSR), that fought until the end for the title. The Dane driver installed himself in a great P3 in the first stint, while Tujula got the lead after the first pit stop. In the closing stages, Kroes was stuck in the battle and eventually, he lost the position to Drudi and Fuoco, ending ahead of teammates Pulcini-Giammaria-Nemoto. The Japanese driver was close to the top three in the first stint, while Giammaria fought a good battle with Rovera and Pulcini ran a red-hot final stage that he managed very well. The fifth-place went to another Huracan, that of Galbiati-Venturini-Altoè, that allowed Kikko Galbiati and Giovanni Venturini to end third in the championship, just one point short of the Audi drivers and proceeding the Ferrari 488 of GT3 PRO-AM Champions Sean Hudspeth, Mattia Michelotto and Matteo Greco (in the picture). The Easy Race drivers had to finish ahead of the 488 of Di Amato-Vezzoni to get the title and they accomplished the mission. Di Amato ran two great stints for RS Racing, while Vezzoni suffered setup problems after the contact with the Mercedes AMG of Moiseev.

BMW colors were hit by bad luck instead and for the second year in a row they lost the title that seemed at their reach. As last year in Mugello, a contact with Drudi, who was later on handed a 5s time penalty, prevented Krohn to continue the race and destroyed the title chances of BMW after two great stints put in by Stefano Comandini and by the 17 years old German driver Marius Zug.

The two Mercedes AMG GT3 of Antonelli Motorsport retired due to an incident. The car driven by Moiseev-Spinelli (Mercedes AMG GT3-Antonelli Motorsport) completed a good stint with the Italian who was in the lead of the race on lap eight but ended the race early due to the contact with Vezzoni when the flawless Russian was behind the wheel. The car driven by Linossi-Zampieri-Lorandi went out on lap eight after an exit of the driver from Brescia that also involved the Porsche GT3 R of Pampanini-Calamia (Dinamic Motorsport).




Four wins in four races, the title of GT4 PRO-AM has been the right prize for Paolo Gnemmi, Sabino De Castro and Riccardo Pera that dominated the season. In the closing race in Monza, the Ebimotors drivers did not have difficulties to take the fourth win that allowed Pera – absent in Vallelunga due to the conflicting 24 Hours of Le Mans, to celebrate the title together with his teammates. The victory of the team led by Enrico Borghi has never been under threat even though the poleman Gnemmi was overtaken by Guerra (BMW M4 GT4) in the first lap. In the second stint De Castro got the lead back finding his way past Nicola Neri, while Pera managed to control Guerra easily in the third ending more than one lap clear of the BMW driver. The third step of the podium went to Talarico-Cutrera-LMDV (Porsche Cayman-Ebimotors), while the third car fielded by the team of Enrico Borghi for Marchi-Di Giusto-De Amicis went out at the Ascari in the first stint due to the incident of Andrea Marchi. The GT4 AM title went to Luca Magnoni (Mercedes AMG GT4- Nova Race), despite he could not take part in the race with Claudio Formenti due to a physical problem.



On Twitter