Day one of Rally 1000 Miglia of Brescia reached its end

Day one of Rally 1000 Miglia of Brescia reached its end

20/04/2012 – The second part of this leg one of the Rally 1000 Miglia ended this afternoon. At 15.06 (GMT+2) the cars left for the “Coventino” stage and weather improved a lot from the morning stages. The race was subjected to cars transfer for safety reasons due to the huge crowd, soon after the passage of the Peugeot 207 S2000 driven by Alessandro Perico. The driver from Bergamo soon afterwards left the race due to an incident where he was not injured.

In the second run at the “Tremosine” stage, the champion pair Andreucci-Andreussi got the lead on Peugeot 207 S2000; during this stage the two pairings of Skoda Fabia S2000, that is Umberto Scandola and Juho Hanninen, lost 25'' due to a wrong tyre choice as the tarmac was much drier than expected. Tyres were therefore changed before the “Valvestino” stage that started on time at 17.04 on a track free from rain. The first place went to Giandomenico Basso, followed by Paolo Andreucci and the Finn Juho Hanninen.
The last stage of the first leg of the Rally 1000 Miglia saw again Basso on top, followed by Andreucci and Hanninen.

In the second passage at "Pertiche", Scandola spun with his Skoda Fabia S2000 at the last hairpin. Great performance instead for Stefano Albertini and his co-driver Simone Scattolin that ended second in the longest stage of the first leg.

The absolute classification at the end of leg one:

1.G.BASSO-M.DOTTA Ford Fiesta S2000 (1.6 T)1.28'22.7;2. P.ANDREUCCI -A.ANDREUSSI(Peugeot 207 S2000)37.7;3. J.HANNINEN-M.MARKKULA(Skoda Fabia S2000)1'09.2; 4. U. SCANDOLA-G.D'AMORE(Skoda Fabia S2000)1'30.6;5. M.GAMBA-E.INGLESI(Peugeot 207 S2000)1'52.7;6.L.BETTI -M.BARONE (Peugeot 207 S2000)2'11.3.;7. S. ALBERTINI-S. SCATTOLIN(Peugeot 207 S2000);8. D.ILIEV-Y.YANAKIEV(Skoda Fabia S2000)4'00.0;9. S.CAMPEDELLI-D.FAPPANI (Citroen DS3)4'30.6;10.M. Solowow- M.Baran ( Peugeot 207 S2000)5'01.0

The programme of leg two follows (GMT+2):

Saturday 21 aprile: "Acquebone" Km 14,98 (08:44); "Colle San Zeno" Km 32,51 (09:27); "Irma" Km 17,81 (10:20); "Acquebone 2" (13:46) ; "Colle San Zeno 2" (14:29) ; "Irma 2" (15:22).

The arrive and award ceremony will take place at 18.00 on the fascinating Vittoria square of Brescia. The press release with the winners will follow at 19.00 at the headquarters of the Automobile Club Brescia.