Italian Rally Championship, fourth round. Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, GPL powered Ford Fiesta R5, win the Rally Italia Sardegna

Second place for Umberto Scandola, Skoda Fabia S2000, third for Paolo Andreucci, Peugeot R5 208 T16.

Alghero 7 June - Giandomenico Basso and Lorenzo Granai, GPL powered Ford Fiesta R5 claimed the win of the Rally Italia Sardegna, race organized by Automobile Club d'Italia as fourth round of the Italian Rally Championship. Behind the driver from Cavaso del Tomba (Tv) Umberto Scandola and his co-driver Guido d'Amore on Skoda Fabia Super 2000 closed at 1'39"9, while the Tuscan Champion at the wheel of the Peugeot T16 R5 Paolo Andreucci and co-driver Anna Andreussi ended third.

As expected the race has been decided in the very long stage "Monte Lerno”. During the 60 km of the stage Umberto Scandola, leader up to that point, got a puncture and alike Paolo Andreucci. These episodes delineated the final classification.

The last stage also decided the positions behind the front runners. The fourth place went to the other driver of Peugeot Italia Stefano Albertini and co-driver Silvia Mazzetti, on Peugeot 207 Super 2000 as the pairing was only two seconds shy of their captain. Fifth and sixth position for the first two of the Gravel Trophy, Renato Travaglia and Luigi Ricci. Very good race also for Nicolò Marchioro, with co-driver Marco Marchetti on Renault Clio, that closed seventh absolute.

Among the unlucky protagonists of the race, Simone Campedelli, and co-driver Danilo Fappani had to retire in the last stage, while Andrea Nucita, Peugeot 207 Super 2000, ended very far from the front runners due to a series of problems ended by the break of an axle-shaft and a puncture in the final stage.

Absolute classification of the 11th Rally Italia Sardegna – Day 2: 1. Basso-Granai (Ford Fiesta R5) in 1'21.09.2; 2.Scandola-D'Amore (Skoda Fabia S2000) at 1'32.9; 3.Andreucci-Andreussi (Peugeot 208 R5 T16) at 2'16.2;2'4.Albertini-Mazzetti (Peugeot 207 S2000) at 2'18.2; 5.Travaglia-Ciucci (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX) at 2'32.5; 6.Ricci-Agostinelli (Ford Fiesta R5) at 2'41.5; 7. Marchioro-Marchetti (Renault Clio R3) at 5'19.5; 8.Trentin-De Marco (Subaru Impreza N14) at 7'26.3; 9.Biolghini-Morina (Skoda Fabia S2000) at 9'12.3;10.Catania-Salis ( Peugeot 207 S2000) at 9'51.6.

CIR Drivers Classification : Scandola 47 pt ;Basso 42; Andreucci 35; Nucita 27; 5. Andolfi Junior 17 ;6. Albertini 16; Perego 16; 7. Michelini 13; 8.; Scattolon; 10. 9. 10 Panzani 6.

CIR Constructors Classification: 1.Peugeot 73 pt; 2.Ford 48 ; 3. Skoda 47; 4.Renault 34.

Gravel Trophy Classification:1.Travaglia 15 pt; 2. Ricci 12; Trentin 10; Biolghini 8; Barbero; 6; Morato 5; Tolfo 4; Raviglione 3