Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi, Peugeot 207 Super 2000, lead the classification of the first day

16/09/2011 - Behind the Italian Champion classified Umberto Scandola, Ford Fiesta Super 2000 and Luca Rossetti, Abarth Grande Punto. The last and decisive day is scheduled for tomorrow.
Paolo Andreucci and Anna Andreussi lead the classification of the first complete racing day of the 31st International Rally San Martino di Castrozza and Primiero, last round of the Italian Rally Championship, on their Peugeot 207 Super 2000.

The Tuscan driver fought in the first part of the day with Umberto Scandola with the latter leading the pack on his Ford Fiesta Super 2000 until stage four and with Luca Rossetti, on Abarth Grande Punto, pushing hard during the second lap on the same stages and was the only one that managed to keep Andreucci's pace.

Technical problems stopped afterwards Umberto Scandola and slowed down Perico a lot. Alessio Pisi and Franco Cunico, both on Peugeot, took advantage of these problems and ended respectively third and fourth in the absolute classification. Cunico is still in the games for the final victory of the Independents Trophy.

Today's run could have been decisive instead for the Italian Junior Championship. The bad luck that followed Andrea Nucita, Renault Clio R3C, in this last part of the championship reached its top in San Martino. An electric problem first and a the fire later on stopped the Sicilian driver and gave green flags to Simone Campedelli and his Citroen Ds3. Campedelli is now behind the team mate, Andrea Crugnola, but will necessarily have to win the group and the class to secure the title.

The race is still long anyway. Tomorrow three races are scheduled for the morning session: the "Gobbera" (11,14 km, start at 8:35 local time, GMT+2) in the Vanoi valley; the "Col Perer" (13,44 km, at 9:35) and "Val Malene" (26,87 km, start at 10:20). The grand finale will be in the afternoon with live coverage on Italian TV Rai Sport 2 starting from 13.30, "Griffitz" (1,68 km), that will go through a small portion of the "Gobbera", "Col Perer" (start at 14:50) before getting back to San Martino, where the podium ceremony will start at 17 on the Sass Maor square.

The classiifcation after day 1. Andreucci - Andreussi ( Peugeot 207 Super 2000) in 1h 11´25" 3 ; 2 Rossetti- Chiarcossi (Abarth Grande Punto Super 2000) at 9"2 ; 3. Pisi - Florean (Peugeto 207 Super 2000) at 1´50"2; 4. Cunico - Pollet ( Peugeto 207 Super 2000) at 2´03"3; 8; 5. Crugnola - Monetti (Citroen Ds3 ) at 2´12"5 ;6. Campedelli - Fappani ( Citroen DS3 R3T) at 2´32"2 ; 7. Perico -Carrara (Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 2´53"0. ; 8. Taddei - Gaspari ( Peugeot 207 Super 2000) at 3´53"3; 9. Bresolin - Zortea (Peugeto 207 Super 2000) at 3´56"2 ; 10. Merli - De Col (Renault Clio Super 1600) at 4´13"8.

Antonio Pascale is currently leading the group in the Mitsubishi Castrol Evolution Cup.